The Texas eviction process starts with the landlord sending the tenant either a 3 day notice to quit, for nonpayment or noncompliance with their lease, or a 30 day notice when the landlord would like to end a month to month tenancy. If the tenant does not cure the violation or move-out with the instructions dated, the landlord will have the right to file in their respective District Court the Complaint and Summons to the tenant (See Eviction Instructions). Afterwards the tenant will be able to Review Their Rights and file the Answer before going the court date.
Texas Eviction Process & Laws | Free TX Eviction Notices
NonPayment Laws - 3 days § 24.005
NonCompliance Laws - 3 days § 24.005
Month to Month Laws - 30 days § 91.001
Forcible Entry and Detainer Laws - Title 4, Chapter 24