Tennessee 30 Day Lease Termination Letter | Month-to-Month Tenancy

The Tennessee thirty (30) day termination letter, in regards to Statute 66-28-512(b), may be used by a landlord to notify a tenant that their lease is being terminated. The landlord does not need a specific reason to terminate the lease agreement (as long as the reason is not in discrimination/retaliation of the tenant). The termination letter provides the tenant with 30 days to vacate the rental unit. After the 30 day window has passed (and the tenant has failed to move out), the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit in the Circuit/General Sessions Court in the county of the rental property.

Note: The 30 day notice period begins on the date that the next rent payment is due.

Download Links:

Note: Clicking these links will open a new browser tab/window.

How to Write

Step 1 – Put the “Notice Date” (dd/mm/yyyy) in the first input field. Enter the address of the premises (street, unit, city, state, ZIP) in the second field.

Step 2 – Write the name(s) of the tenant(s) in the “To” line.

Step 3 – Fill in the start date of the lease/rental agreement.

Step 4 – The “Proof of Service” section should be filled out after serving the notice to the tenant. Complete the section by selecting the service method, and then entering the date of service.

Step 5 – Sign/print/date your name in the fields on the bottom of the notice.