South Carolina 14 Day Notice to Comply or Quit | NonCompliance
The South Carolina fourteen (14) day notice to comply or quit, as referenced in Section 27-40-710(A), is required to be served on a tenant who has violated the lease/rental agreement (or any of the South Carolina landlord-tenant laws). The landlord must serve this notice to the tenant before filing an eviction suit (otherwise known as an “ejectment action”) in court. The tenant must be given the full 14 days to remedy the violation(s). After the 14 day period has expired (and the tenant has not complied with the notice), the landlord can file the ejectment action in the local District Office.
Note: “Self-help” evictions are illegal in the State of South Carolina. All evictions must be by court order.
How to Write
Step 1 – At the top of the form enter the full name of the tenant, and the full address of the rental unit (street, unit number, city, county, state, ZIP).
Step 2 – Provide a detailed description of the lease violation(s).
Note: If additional space is required, attach a separate page to the notice.
Step 3 – Sign your name in the “BY” field, and then provide a contact address and telephone number.