Ohio Eviction Process & Laws | Free OH Eviction Notices

An Ohio eviction begins with the landlord sending out a notice to due to a lease violation (noncompliance, nonpayment, etc.) or due to he intent of ending a month to month tenancy. In the event that the tenant does not cure their violation or vacate at the premises when instructed should the forcible entry and detainer process begin. The landlord should follow the Eviction Guide while filing all necessary papers with their Municipal Court Location. The tenant, by using Their Rights, may follow suit by filing the Answer form and presenting their case to the court.

Health/Safety Hazard Laws - 30 days §§ 5321.11

NonPayment Laws - 3 days § 1923.04

NonCompliance Laws - 3 days § 1923.02

Month to Month Laws - 30 days § 5321.17

Forcible Entry and Detainer Laws - Chapter 1923

Types of Notice



Ohio 3 Day Notice to Comply or Cure | NonCompliance

The Ohio three (3) day notice to comply or cure, in association with 1923.02, must be served on a tenant who has committed some type of “curable” (i.e. fixable) lease violation (before the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit). The notice provides the tenant with three (3) days* to either cure…

Ohio 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit | NonPayment of Rent

The Ohio three (3) day notice to pay or quit, along with Section 1923.04, is the standard notice that is used to inform a tenant that they are past due on the rent. The notice states that the tenant must either pay the past due amount, or vacate the rental unit…

Ohio 30 Day Lease Termination Letter | Tenancy at Will

The Ohio thirty (30) day lease termination letter, source ORC 5321.17, is to be used to inform a tenant (or landlord) of the sender’s intention to terminate the month-to-month (or “at-will”) lease agreement. The notice gives the tenant thirty (30) days to vacate the rental unit. Failure of the tenant…

Ohio 30 Day Notice to Quit | Health/Safety Hazard

The Ohio thirty (30) day notice to quit for a health or safety hazard, in regard to §§ 5321.11, is reserved to be used when a tenant has failed to comply with the rental/lease agreement, and when the violation has caused a health/safety hazard. The notice gives the tenant thirty days…

Process How to Evict a Tenant

The only way for a landlord to evict a tenant in Ohio is by obtaining a court order. Before filing the eviction lawsuit, the landlord must give the tenant a written eviction notice. A tenant can be evicted due to nonpayment of rent, violation of the lease agreement, failure to move out after the rental term has ended, failure to fix (i.e. “cure”) a health hazard within 30 days, or for violation of Ohio’s drug laws (on the premises of the rental property). The standard amount of notice that is required before the landlord can file the eviction suit is three (3) days, however month-to-month tenants must receive 30 days notice, and a tenant who has committed a health/safety hazard must also receive 30 days notice.

Step 1 – Serve the proper notice to the tenant. The notice can be served personally, or sent through certified mail (and posted on the premises of the rental unit). The entire notice period must lapse (with no action taken by the tenant) before an eviction lawsuit (known in Ohio as a “Forcible Entry and Detainer”).

Note: The notice period is counted in terms of business days, and the date of service does not count towards the notice period.

Step 2 – File the eviction lawsuit. The lawsuit is comprised of two main documents; the Complaint and Summons. The tenant will receive a copy of each of these documents. The Complaint describes the reason for the lawsuit, and the Summons details the time and date of the hearing. The court papers will be sent to the tenant by certified mail, as well as posted on the premises of the rental unit. The tenant must receive these papers at least seven (7) days prior to the date of the hearing.

Note: The filing fee is typically anywhere from $120-140. Additional fees may be required.

Step 3 – Show up to court on the date of the hearing. If the tenant does not show up, a default judgement will most likely be issued against them. If the landlord does not show up, the judge will dismiss the lawsuit. If both parties show up in court, the hearing will take place. Both the landlord and the tenant will have the opportunity to present their side of the story to the court. If the tenant is found guilty, they will be ordered to vacate the rental property within a certain period of time (the time to vacate varies across the State).

Note: Bring any relevant evidence, documentation (payment history, violation history, etc.) to the hearing.

Step 4 – If the tenant does not move out in accordance with the court order, the landlord can file a request in court to have the Sheriff evict them from the property.