The New Jersey eviction process starts with the notifying the tenant of a noncompliance, late rent, or that the landlord has decided to end their month to month lease (See Grounds for Eviction). If the tenant does not respond and does not vacate the premises under the period stated an action may be placed against them in the County Court Clerk's Office. The lessee may view their Tenants' Rights if they should have to file an Answer with the court.
New Jersey Eviction Process & Laws | Free NJ Eviction Notices
Disorderly Conduct Laws - 3 days 2A:18-53(c)
NonPayment Laws - 30 days § 2A:18-61.2(b)
NonCompliance Laws - 30 days § 2A:18-61.2
Month to Month Laws - 1 month § 2A: 18-56
Eviction Laws - N.J.S.A. 2A:18-53 through 2A:18-84