Minnesota 30 Day Lease Termination Letter | Tenancy at Will

The Minnesota thirty (30) day notice to quit, as Statute 504B.135, is required to be served to a tenant before the landlord can end a month-to-month or “at-will” tenancy. Tenants must also provide their landlord with the same amount of notice (at least 30 days). The notice informs the tenant that the lease agreement will be terminated in thirty (30) days, and that they must vacate the rental property before the end of the 30 day period. If the tenant does not move out within the 30 day period, the landlord can file an eviction lawsuit in court.

Download Links:

How to Write

Step 1 – Put the date, and full address of the rental property/unit in the proper input fields at the top of the notice.

Step 2 – Enter the name of the tenant in the blank “To:” field.

Step 3 – Enter the (start) date of the lease.

Note: Provide a return address for the security deposit if you’re the tenant drafting this notice to serve to your landlord.

Step 4 – Select the service method that was used (personal, certified mail, etc.) and then enter the date of service. Sign, print, and then date your name at the bottom of the form to complete the “Proof of Service” section.