Maryland Eviction Process & Laws | Free MD Eviction Notices

A Maryland eviction only commences when a tenant does not respond to a landlord after they have issued notices for nonpayment, noncompliance, or their intent to terminate a tenancy at will. If the tenant remains on the property after the "quit" period the landlord may follow the Eviction Instructions in order to file the Complaint and Summons.

NonPayment Laws - Immediate § 8-401

NonCompliance Laws - 30 days § 8–402.1(2)(A)

Month to Month Laws - 30 days § 8-402(b)(3)

Entry and Detainer Laws - Real Property

Types of Notice



Maryland 14 Day Notice to Quit | Clear and Imminent Danger

The Maryland fourteen (14) day notice to quit, in reference to Statute §8–402.1, is reserved for use only when a tenant presents “clear and imminent” danger to themselves, other tenants, or the landlord. The notice states that the tenant must vacate the rental unit within fourteen (14) days. If the rental…

Maryland 30 Day Notice to Comply or Quit | NonCompliance

The Maryland thirty (30) day notice to comply or quit, in reference to §8–402.1(2)(A), notifies a tenant that they have thirty (30) days to either fix the lease violation(s) within fourteen (14) days, or vacate the rental unit. If the tenant fails to fix (i.e. “cure”) the violation(s) within fourteen…

Maryland 30 Day Notice to Terminate | Month to Month Tenancy

The Maryland thirty (30) day notice to quit, as referred to in § 8-402(b)(3), informs a month-to-month tenant that they have thirty (30) days to vacate the rental property before the lease agreement is terminated. Failure of the tenant to move out within the thirty (30) day period allows the landlord…

Maryland Immediate Notice to Quit for Non-Payment

The Maryland immediate notice to quit for nonpayment, in accordance with § 8-401, is a notice that is given out of respect by the landlord to inform the tenant they are behind on their rent. This is a courtesy that the landlord does not have to provide, as they are…

Process How to Evict a Tenant

Maryland eviction laws provide landlords with the right to immediately terminate a lease agreement when a tenant has failed to pay rent (there is no required notice period for terminating a lease agreement for failure to pay rent). When a tenant is in breach of the lease agreement, they must be given at least thirty (30) days notice before the agreement can be terminated. Month-to-month tenants must be given the same period of time (thirty days). If a tenant presents “clear and imminent danger” to the rental property or other tenants, they must receive a fourteen (14) day notice to quit/vacate.

Step 1 – Serve the proper notice to the tenant. Common service methods include personal delivery (the optimal method), certified mail, and posting the notice on the premises of the rental unit. If the tenant has failed to pay rent, you can file an eviction lawsuit (in Maryland, it’s often referred to as “summary ejectment”).

Step 2 – After the eviction action has been filed, the Sheriff will serve the tenant with a summons. The summons gives the tenant a date/time to appear in court. Hearings are usually held five days after the initial complaint is filed. Both parties must attend the hearing.

Step 3 – If the judge rules against the tenant, a court order will be issued demanding that the tenant vacate the rental unit within four (4) days. If the tenant does not vacate the property within four days, the landlord must request a warrant of restitution. The warrant allows the Sheriff to oversee the eviction and if necessary, physically aid the landlord in evicting the tenant(s).

Note: In Maryland, if a tenant pays all back rent and any other required fees to the landlord before the eviction order is enacted, the eviction will be dismissed and they will be allowed to remain in possession of the rental property.