The Illinois eviction process commences upon the nonpayment or noncompliance of the tenant or if the landlord is engaged in a month to month arrangement. A notice should be sent by the landlord, in the cases of nonpayment or noncompliance, if the tenant cures the issue there is nothing else to be done. However, if the tenant does not cure the issue, or does not move out by the end of the period, the landlord may seek legal action and file a forcible entry and detainer (View Instructions).
Illinois Eviction Process & Laws | Free IL Eviction Notices
NonPayment Laws - 5 days 735 ILCS 5
NonCompliance Laws - 10 days 735 ILCS 5/9-210
Month to Month Laws - 30 days 735 ILCS 5
Forcible Entry and Detainer Laws - 735 ILCS 5