The Georgia 30 day (60 days for the landlord) notice to quit, according to Section 44-7-7, is used when a landlord or tenant wants to terminate the lease/rental agreement. Georgia law requires that a landlord give the tenant a minimum of sixty (60) days notice when there is no written lease agreement (commonly known as a “tenancy-at-will”). If the tenant wants to terminate the lease, the landlord needs a minimum of thirty (30) days notice.
How to Write
Step 1 – Download the form in .PDF format and print it out. Enter the current date at the top of the form, along with the full address of the rental unit.
Step 2 – In the “To:” field, enter the name of the landlord/tenant.
Step 3 – Check the first box if you are the landlord. If you are the tenant, check the second box. Enter the lease date.
Step 4 – The “Proof of Service” section at the bottom should be filled out after the notice was served/delivered. Enter the date, and select the delivery method that was used. Sign your name at the bottom of the form, and enter the date of service. Keep this section of the notice for your records.